Lionoah

IT Professional

The Steelers Mendenhall ‘creates a stir’…

leave a comment »

I wrote a post the other day about the positively inhuman way people all over are ‘celebrating’ the death of a Osama bin Laden. Alas, I am nobody (all the better actually) so no one paid any attention. I was hoping that some folks out there might feel like I do, because that post was not just about sports or a day in the park. It had to do with everything that makes us human.

So I read a Sports Illustrated article today about an athlete who apparently stuck his foot in his mouth. Now what did he say you might ask? His words according to the article were “What kind of person celebrates death?” Now I am sure that offended some people unintentionally, but really that question he posed sums up my thoughts. I saw that some friends on Facebook shared my sentiments and that alone validated my thinking. Or rather, proved to me that there are some people out there who are more humane than blood-thirsty.

Of course, he did sort of stick his foot in his mouth in saying “We’ve only heard one side.” I’m not really sure what to think of that statement because while I am not one to drink the Kool-aid, Bin Laden did in fact congratulate so many killers and terrorist – as far as I could tell. Of course, I wasn’t there. I only watched and read the news just like everybody else, and being a writer I am aware of the power of words, be they written or spoken. We must always consider the source, because damn, how many people have been put to death convicted of a crime they never committed? For those innocents who lost their lives, is anyone calling for them to be avenged?

The point is, no matter if bin Laden planned the bombings or not, if anything express indifference or even a sentiment of chickens coming home to roost. For all we REALLY know, this whole last ten years could be a case of the tail wagging the dog. I don’t think Mendenhall meant his words as an affront to the soldiers who are out there doing what they’ve been told, or what they feel is right, but more shock and people in the streets celebrating like they’ve won the lottery.

It used to be that American cheered Olympic medalists, or a man on the moon, or a victorious team after winning the championship. They say that you can tell a lot about a man by his enemies. If Osama bin Laden’s death is such a cause of celebration for millions of Americans, we need to think about what kind of country we have become.

Written by lionoah

May 3, 2011 at 22:44

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

